Hanoi Metro construction update

A construction update and photos of Line 2A and Line 3 of the Hanoi Metro, and the status of other planned metro lines for Hanoi.

This week I finally have a Hanoi feature article on the site, about the Hanoi metro.

Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City are both building their first metro systems, and both are far behind schedule (though Hanoi is much further behind at this point).

Being based in Saigon I have become familiar with the city and the routes that the future metro will take. I made a map for the HCMC Metro, and also did a concept map of what the future HCMC Metro should look like.

For Hanoi I have not bothered to make a metro map because someone has already done it. In fact they did such a good job that the metro authority used their map without permission. This map is included in the article.

I was hoping that my first Hanoi metro post would be a review of the first operating line. My last two visits to Hanoi before this trip I’ve said to myself, “next time I visit Hanoi the first metro line should be running”. That old saying came to mind on this trip:

“Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.”

I may have another Hanoi trip lined up this year, so I am not expecting the metro to be open until it is open.

On my most recent trip though I walked along the route of the two lines under construction. That exploration fits in perfectly with the new Construction Updates category, and I will make metro construction updates an annual post for other cities as well.

Latest posts at Living In Asia

Hanoi Metro 2020 construction update

A construction update as of 2020 of Line 2A and Line 3 of the Hanoi Metro, and the status of other planned metro lines for Hanoi.

Other News

Cambodia

“More small scale Chinese businesses are opening up on the islands off the coast of Sihanoukville as Western businesses continue to close with owners blaming high rents and falling Western tourists for the changing demographic.”

China

“Unmanned taxis are now available to book in Shanghai’s suburban Jiading District.”

Indonesia

Malaysia

“Chinese and Singapore investors stay away as pandemic crisis persists.”

Philippines

Singapore

“Singapore’s affordable housing program worked so well that some of its subsidized apartments now resell for more than $700,000.”

Thailand

As someone who walks everywhere, I know the frustrations of the footpaths of Southeast Asia. This issue is in my draft folder.

The Chana Rak Thin Network has renewed its call for the government to scrap a plan to develop a special economic zone (SEZ) in Songkhla's Chana district ahead of a zoning meeting concerning the proposed project.

Vietnam

“Many owners of small and medium-sized hotels in Da Nang are offering to sell their properties in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic”.

“Several of the world's largest technology corporations plan to shift their production chains to Vietnam post-Covid-19, according to the Ministry of Industry and Trade.”

Join the conversation

or to participate.